April Fools Day

April 1st is usually packed full of tricks and pranks, some of which are deceptive and just plain cruel. I wanted to join in on the fun with my girls but wanted to make sure it was kid-friendly fun. If I get their hopes up for something, I always make sure I do follow through with that. I don’t want any disappointments or feelings of being tricked harshly. Here are some of the things we did last year and this year.

We prepared some red jello. We poured it into a clear tumbler and put a straw in it. Jaelle told her Papaw that she made him some “juice”. Of course when he tried to drink the “juice” he couldn’t get it through the straw. She thought it was hilarious!

IMG_0634 IMG_0637

Since they had the pleasure of being the tricksters first, now it was my turn to get them. At lunchtime, I told the girls I was going to make them some grilled cheese sandwiches. I took a loaf of pound cake and sliced it to resemble the bread. Then I whipped up some orange creme icing (by “whipped up” I mean that stirred the Duncan Hines flavoring packet into the icing). I iced one piece of “bread” with the icing (cheese) and put another piece on top to make the sandwiches. Jaelle and Jenna were both fooled, but very happy to be eating cake for lunch!

IMG_0638

IMG_0639

Later I’m the afternoon, a few neighborhood friends came over so I decided to play a tiny joke on them as well. The girls had received some dessert shaped sidewalk chalk for Easter. I thought it was the perfect time to bring them out. I asked the kids if they wanted some dessert, of course they all replied “yes!” I put the chalk onto a plate and served it to the kids. Jaelle recognized that it was the chalk, but her friends did not. One tried to take a bite of the “popsicle”. They had fun decorating the sidewalk with the chalk, then I offered them some actual popsicles. Even after coloring with the chalk, Jenna couldn’t resist tasting it!

IMG_0645                      IMG_0644

Last year, I told Jaelle that we were going to have doughnuts for breakfast the next day. I took Cheerios and iced them and put sprinkles on them. I put the tiny doughnuts in a Krispy Kreme doughnut box. Then I served the tiny doughnuts for breakfast. Jaelle thought they were so cute, but quickly asked for a real doughnut. Of course I had actual size doughnuts too.

DSCN1231

For dinner I made meatloaf cupcakes complete with pink “frosting”. I prepared the meatloaf as normal, but instead of shaping into a loaf, I put it into a cupcake pan. (I actually cook it this way all the time now. It makes nice serving sizes for the kids.) For the “frosting” I made mashed potatoes and stirred in a couple drops of pink food coloring. It was a big hit! After dinner we made actual cupcakes for dessert.

DSCN1252

Leave a Reply

